The House of Science is a nationwide education system that nurtures curiosity, ​by resourcing and connecting local science communities.

The original House of Science (HoS) started in Tauranga in 2014. Today, a growing number of regions are offering the same fantastic services to their community. Each regional HoS 'branch' is a separate legal entity, delivering the HoS services under a licenced contract with HoS NZ. See the 'regions' tab for more details on your local HoS branch.


The House of Science has a lofty vision: to Raise Scientific Literacy in all of New Zealand - all ages, all ethnicities, all communities. From DIY experiments, to professional development programmes, House of Science provides a range of educational tools for the whole community. Our Science Resource Library for primary schools is extremely popular. The organisation is funded by membership fees, community grants and business sponsorship.


Chris Duggan       Founder and National CEO
Jane Hoggard       Resource Developer

Debbie Hindman   Administrator


David Tanner
​Nick Dangerfield
Joseph Wright

Barbara Johnson

Natasha van der Wal


The House of Science was established in 2013 by Chris Duggan with a vision to raise Scientific Literacy throughout the Western Bay of Plenty (WBOP) and to give children a place to explore, experiment and investigate science in all its forms. Today the House of Science is resourcing and connecting communities all over New Zealand.


House of Science is a not-for-profit organisation that relies on the generous support of local organisations and community members to operate. We're proudly in partnership with the Wright Family Foundation, a registered charitable trust that is committed to the growth and development of all New Zealanders through education in its various forms. It is through the foundation's contributions that we have been able to translate the Science Resource Library into Te Reo and further our reach into the community.